Truly Devious

The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder. Truly Devious is the first novel in a murder- mystery trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson.

Truly Devious

Truly Devious

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.” Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history. True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder. The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

More Books:

Truly Devious
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Maureen Johnson
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-01-16 - Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It
American Knees
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Shawn Wong
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005-05-15 - Publisher: University of Washington Press

Read about the movie, Americanese, based on Shawn Wong's book, at: http://www.americanesethemovie.com
Charlie Chan Is Dead 2
Language: en
Pages: 592
Authors: Jessica Hagedorn
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-02-24 - Publisher: Penguin

More than a decade after its initial publication, the groundbreaking anthology Charlie Chan Is Dead remains the best available source for contemporary Asian American fiction. Edited by acclaimed novelist and National Book Award nominee Jessica Hagedorn, Charlie Chan Is Dead 2: At Home in the World brings together forty-two fresh,
False Covenant
Language: en
Pages: 281
Authors: Ari Marmell
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-06-19 - Publisher: Pyr

It’s been over half a year, now, since the brutal murder of Archbishop William de Laurent during his pilgrimage to the Galicien city of Davillon. During that time, the Church of the Hallowed Pact has assigned a new bishop to the city—but it has also made its displeasure at the
The Criminology Theory Reader
Language: en
Pages: 611
Authors: Stuart Henry, Werner Einstadter
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 1998 - Publisher: NYU Press

"Sylvan's thesis furnishes far more of the same valued experiences than is usually realized: ritual activity, communal ceremony, a philosophy and worldview, a code for living one's life, a cultural identity, a social structure, a sense of belonging, and crucially, Sylvan argues encounters with the numinous." —Journal of Religion Most