Into Thin Air

By writing Into Thin Air, Krakauer may have hoped to exorcise some of his own demons and lay to rest some of the painful questions that still surround the event.

Into Thin Air

Into Thin Air

National Bestseller A bank of clouds was assembling on the not-so-distant horizon, but journalist-mountaineer Jon Krakauer, standing on the summit of Mt. Everest, saw nothing that "suggested that a murderous storm was bearing down." He was wrong. The storm, which claimed five lives and left countless more--including Krakauer's--in guilt-ridden disarray, would also provide the impetus for Into Thin Air, Krakauer's epic account of the May 1996 disaster. By writing Into Thin Air, Krakauer may have hoped to exorcise some of his own demons and lay to rest some of the painful questions that still surround the event. He takes great pains to provide a balanced picture of the people and events he witnessed and gives due credit to the tireless and dedicated Sherpas. He also avoids blasting easy targets such as Sandy Pittman, the wealthy socialite who brought an espresso maker along on the expedition. Krakauer's highly personal inquiry into the catastrophe provides a great deal of insight into what went wrong. But for Krakauer himself, further interviews and investigations only lead him to the conclusion that his perceived failures were directly responsible for a fellow climber's death. Clearly, Krakauer remains haunted by the disaster, and although he relates a number of incidents in which he acted selflessly and even heroically, he seems unable to view those instances objectively. In the end, despite his evenhanded and even generous assessment of others' actions, he reserves a full measure of vitriol for himself. This updated edition of Into Thin Air includes an extensive new postscript that sheds fascinating light on the acrimonious debate that flared between Krakauer and Everest guide Anatoli Boukreev in the wake of the tragedy. "I have no doubt that Boukreev's intentions were good on summit day," writes Krakauer in the postscript, dated August 1999. "What disturbs me, though, was Boukreev's refusal to acknowledge the possibility that he made even a single poor decision. Never did he indicate that perhaps it wasn't the best choice to climb without gas or go down ahead of his clients." As usual, Krakauer supports his points with dogged research and a good dose of humility. But rather than continue the heated discourse that has raged since Into Thin Air's denouncement of guide Boukreev, Krakauer's tone is conciliatory; he points most of his criticism at G. Weston De Walt, who coauthored The Climb, Boukreev's version of events. And in a touching conclusion, Krakauer recounts his last conversation with the late Boukreev, in which the two weathered climbers agreed to disagree about certain points. Krakauer had great hopes to patch things up with Boukreev, but the Russian later died in an avalanche on another Himalayan peak, Annapurna I. In 1999, Krakauer received an Academy Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters--a prestigious prize intended "to honor writers of exceptional accomplishment." According to the Academy's citation, "Krakauer combines the tenacity and courage of the finest tradition of investigative journalism with the stylish subtlety and profound insight of the born writer. His account of an ascent of Mount Everest has led to a general reevaluation of climbing and of the commercialization of what was once a romantic, solitary sport; while his account of the life and death of Christopher McCandless, who died of starvation after challenging the Alaskan wilderness, delves even more deeply and disturbingly into the fascination of nature and the devastating effects of its lure on a young and curious mind."

More Books:

Thin Air
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Richard Morgan
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-25 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Richard Morgan has always been one of our most successful SF authors with his fast-moving and brutal storylines, blistering plots and a powerful social conscience behind his work. And now he's back, with his first SF novel for eight years . . . and it promises to be a publication
Into Thin Air
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Jon Krakauer
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 1998-11-12 - Publisher: Anchor

National Bestseller A bank of clouds was assembling on the not-so-distant horizon, but journalist-mountaineer Jon Krakauer, standing on the summit of Mt. Everest, saw nothing that "suggested that a murderous storm was bearing down." He was wrong. The storm, which claimed five lives and left countless more--including Krakauer's--in guilt-ridden disarray,
Thin Air
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Ann Cleeves
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-11 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The sixth Shetland novel A killer who leaves no trace . . . A group of old university friends leave the bright lights of London and travel to Shetland to celebrate the marriage of one of their friends to a local. But late on the night of the wedding party,
The Mercy of Thin Air
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Ronlyn Domingue
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-12-11 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Two strands: first the story of Razi Nolan, growing up in New Orleans in the 1920s, smart, fearless, set on breaking the comfortable family mould by making a career as a doctor. Then she falls in love with Andrew O'Connell and her plans become complicated. She is never able to
Master of Thin Air
Language: en
Pages: 364
Authors: Andrew Lock
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-08 - Publisher: Skyhorse

Named one of the “Five Adventure Books You Need to Read This Summer” by Backpacker Magazine For readers of Into Thin Air, riveting high-altitude drama and the passion and drive that inspire outsized mountaineering achievements. Master of Thin Air opens with a fall that the author very nearly could not

Popular All Time

Home Waters
Krav Maga
Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf
Relentless
The Boys in the Boat
2021 NFHS Football Rules Book
2021 NFHS Football Case Book
Sidecountry: Tales of Death and Life from the Back Roads of Sports
When the Game Was Ours
The New Encyclopedia of Modern Bodybuilding
Golf is Not a Game of Perfect
Sailing Made Easy & Coastal Cruising Made Easy
Every Shot Counts
The Complete Guide to Hunting, Butchering, and Cooking Wild Game
2021-22 NFHS Volleyball Rules Book
The Match
Leading
Legacy