The Code Breaker

The bestselling author of Leonardo da Vinci and Steve Jobs returns with a gripping account of how Nobel Prize winner Jennifer Doudna and her colleagues launched a revolution that will allow us to cure diseases, fend off viruses, and have ...

The Code Breaker

The Code Breaker

The bestselling author of Leonardo da Vinci and Steve Jobs returns with a gripping account of how Nobel Prize winner Jennifer Doudna and her colleagues launched a revolution that will allow us to cure diseases, fend off viruses, and have healthier babies. When Jennifer Doudna was in sixth grade, she came home one day to find that her dad had left a paperback titled The Double Helix on her bed. She put it aside, thinking it was one of those detective tales she loved. When she read it on a rainy Saturday, she discovered she was right, in a way. As she sped through the pages, she became enthralled by the intense drama behind the competition to discover the code of life. Even though her high school counselor told her girls didn’t become scientists, she decided she would. Driven by a passion to understand how nature works and to turn discoveries into inventions, she would help to make what the book’s author, James Watson, told her was the most important biological advance since his co-discovery of the structure of DNA. She and her collaborators turned ​a curiosity ​of nature into an invention that will transform the human race: an easy-to-use tool that can edit DNA. Known as CRISPR, it opened a brave new world of medical miracles and moral questions. The development of CRISPR and the race to create vaccines for coronavirus will hasten our transition to the next great innovation revolution. The past half-century has been a digital age, based on the microchip, computer, and internet. Now we are entering a life-science revolution. Children who study digital coding will be joined by those who study genetic code. Should we use our new evolution-hacking powers to make us less susceptible to viruses? What a wonderful boon that would be! And what about preventing depression? Hmmm…Should we allow parents, if they can afford it, to enhance the height or muscles or IQ of their kids? After helping to discover CRISPR, Doudna became a leader in wrestling with these moral issues and, with her collaborator Emmanuelle Charpentier, won the Nobel Prize in 2020. Her story is a thrilling detective tale that involves the most profound wonders of nature, from the origins of life to the future of our species.

More Books:

The Code Breaker
Language: un
Pages: 560
Authors: Walter Isaacson
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-09 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

The bestselling author of Leonardo da Vinci and Steve Jobs returns with a gripping account of how Nobel Prize winner Jennifer Doudna and her colleagues launched a revolution that will allow us to cure diseases, fend off viruses, and have healthier babies. When Jennifer Doudna was in sixth grade, she
The Codebreakers
Language: un
Pages: 352
Authors: Alli Sinclair
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-03 - Publisher: MIRA

They will dedicate their lives to their country, but no one will ever know... A compelling story about tenacity and friendship, inspired by the real codebreaking women of Australia's top-secret Central Bureau in WWII. For readers who love Judy Nunn and Kate Quinn. 1943, Brisbane: The war continues to devastate
Secret Code Breaker II
Language: un
Pages: 120
Authors: Robert Reynard
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 1997 - Publisher: Smith & Daniel

Books about Secret Code Breaker II
The Code-Breaker
Language: un
Pages: 275
Authors: Barry Hunt
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-08-15 - Publisher: Fastprint Publishing

Clare Galbraith was working as a codebreaker for MI6 when she was murdered. The police tell Tom, her partner, it was the result of a robbery that went wrong. Then a newspaper journalist starts asking questions and Tom is soon drawn into a search for the t
The Code Breaker
Language: un
Pages: 109
Authors: Sally Pierson Dillon
Categories: Morse code
Type: BOOK - Published: 1995-01-01 - Publisher: Review & Herald Publishing

Books about The Code Breaker

Popular All Time

Moms on Call Basic Baby Care: 0-6 Months
Raising Good Humans
Oh Crap! Potty Training
How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk
Moms on Call Toddler Book
The Whole-Brain Child
What to Expect for First-Time Moms: The Ultimate Beginners Guide While Expecting, Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy Pregnancy, Labor, Childbirth, and Newborn - A New Mom’s Survival Handbook
Raising Your Spirited Child, Third Edition
Moms on Call Next Steps Baby Care: 6-15 Months
No-Drama Discipline
Walking on Eggshells
Creating Your Perfect Family Size
How Eskimos Keep Their Babies Warm
How To Keep Your Kids On The Team
Blending Families
The Minimalist Mom
The Zen Mama Guide to Finding Your Rhythm in Pregnancy, Birth, and Beyond
Peaceful Parent, Happy Kids