How We Disappeared

Weaving together two timelines and two life-changing secrets, How We Disappeared is an evocative, profoundly moving and utterly dazzling novel heralding the arrival of a new literary star.

How We Disappeared

How We Disappeared

Shortlisted for the 2020 Singapore Literature Prize Longlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked. Only three survivors remain, one of them a tiny child. In a neighbouring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is bundled into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military rape camp. In the year 2000, her mind is still haunted by her experiences there, but she has long been silent about her memories of that time. It takes twelve-year-old Kevin, and the mumbled confession he overhears from his ailing grandmother, to set in motion a journey into the unknown to discover the truth. Weaving together two timelines and two life-changing secrets, How We Disappeared is an evocative, profoundly moving and utterly dazzling novel heralding the arrival of a new literary star.

More Books:

How We Disappeared
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Jing-Jing Lee
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-04-04 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Shortlisted for the 2020 Singapore Literature Prize Longlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked. Only three survivors remain, one of them a tiny child. In a neighbouring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is bundled into the back
How We Disappeared
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Jing-Jing Lee
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-05-07 - Publisher: Hanover Square Press

*A Library Journal "Emerging Stars" Pick* A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel set in World War II Singapore about a woman who survived the Japanese occupation and a man who thought he had lost everything--for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down
The Day We Disappeared
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: Lucy Robinson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-03-24 - Publisher: Penguin UK

'Fans of Marian Keyes will love Lucy Robinson's giggle-inducing humour and relatable characters. With a twist that will leave you speechless, The Day We Disappeared is a must' Glamour Annie has a secret. But if she's not going to tell, we won't either. It's a heart-breaking secret she wishes she
The Year We Disappeared
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Cylin Busby, John Busby
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-11-01 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

When Cylin Busby was nine years old, she was obsessed with the Muppets and her pet turtle. Then everything changed. Her police officer father, John, was driving to work when someone levelled a shotgun at his window. The blasts that followed left him clinging to life, yet he managed to
The More We Find In Each Other
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: Mavis Fossum, Merle Fossum
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-09-16 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Offers over one hundred practical and inspiring meditations for couples committed to strengthening and enhancing their relationship. These 140 thought-provoking meditations for couples--married or single, straight or gay--explore ways we can strengthen and enhance our relationships. Includes thoughts on how conflicts begin and how they can be resolved, how couples